Shostakovich, Schubert 3 & Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 1
Oct 21 - Oct 23, 2021
Order now


Ukrainian-born piano powerhouse Alexander Gavrylyuk presents Prokofiev’s iridescent and rhythmically animated First Piano Concerto, the work with which the composer made his CSO performance debut, in 1918, as part of its U.S. premiere. James Conlon leads this program framed by Shostakovich’s steely Chamber Symphony, an adaptation of his elegiac Eighth String Quartet, and Schubert’s mercurial Symphony No. 3, which shines with youthful vigor.

Michael Tilson Thomas has withdrawn from these performances due to health reasons.

Thursday, October 21, 2021
7:30 PM
Friday, October 22, 2021
8:00 PM
Saturday, October 23, 2021
8:00 PM

Chamber Symphony, Op. 110a


Piano Concerto No. 1


Symphony No. 3

Sponsors & Partners

The appearance of James Conlon is made possible by the Juli Plant Grainger Fund for Artistic Excellence. These CSO performances are dedicated to the memory of Irving and Barbara Seaman, in grateful recognition of their many years of support and their legacy bequest.

Discover more on Experience CSO
For Alexander Gavrylyuk, Prokofiev expresses life's beauty and pain
Pianist Alexander Gavrylyuk says of his fellow Ukrainian, composer Sergei Prokofiev: "He captured "the beauty and pain of life, especially in times of war and revolution."
Explore more
Recalling the triple-threat talent of Sergei Prokofiev a century later
In what is shaping up to be a season of celebration, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra is mining several veins related to composer-conductor-pianist Sergei Prokofiev, who sprang upon the Windy City more than a century ago. 
Explore more
Reflecting on the often unsung glory of Franz Schubert
In his short life, Franz Schubert (1797–1828) managed to compose an outsized catalog of more than 1,500 works, including seven complete symphonies.
Explore more

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association has joined a growing coalition of performing arts organizations across the Chicago area in adopting safety protocols to ensure your visit to Symphony Center is safe and sound.

These protocols include providing proof of vaccination or a negative test upon entry and wearing face masks. Performances through November 21 are less than 90 minutes and presented without intermission. Guidelines will be reviewed regularly to follow the latest public health recommendations. Visit for the most recent information. Ticket holders will receive specific instructions for entry in advance of the performance.

Support your orchestra
Give today