Resilience and Defiance

Jan 18, 2022


Premiered in 1953 after the death of Joseph Stalin, Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony bursts with menacing march rhythms, chilling whispers and triumphal defiance. The music is often heard as a reckoning with the brutalities of Stalinism but also as the composer’s sigh of relief. Rossen Milanov conducts this thrilling program, which also features Sarah Kirkland Snider’s Something for the Dark, a bold and colorful meditation on resilience.


Something for the Dark


Symphony No. 10


The 2021/22 Civic Orchestra of Chicago season is generously sponsored by The Elizabeth F. Cheney Foundation.

Explore more on Experience CSO
Variety suits conductor Rossen Milanov.: “I recharge and refine my process by collaborating with different artists, looking for inspiration in other art forms.”
Explore more
Sarah Kirkland Snider arrived at composition a little belatedly. “I think this is true for at least a lot of women of my generation and older,” she said. “You put it off because you don’t know if it’s viable."
Explore more
The Civic Orchestra’s 2021-22 season, which begins Nov. 8, puts an emphasis on diversity, with an array of works by women and people of color — what Principal Conductor Ken-David Masur describes as giving “voice to musicians and composers who perhaps had been neglected.”
Explore more

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association is committed to creating a comfortable, enjoyable and safe environment.

For everyone’s comfort and safety, all patrons must wear a face mask throughout their visit.

Individuals are expected to self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms before attending a CSOA event. Patrons who are not feeling well, are exhibiting any COVID-19 symptoms or have had or been exposed to COVID-19 in the past 10 days should contact Patron Services for flexible exchange and refund options.

Visit for the most recent information. Ticket holders receive specific instructions for entry ahead of each performance. Please note, other venues in Chicago may have policies that differ from Symphony Center.