Helmchen Plays Beethoven

May 16-21, 2024


Martin Helmchen, “who brings both freshness and expressive depth to everything he plays” (Chicago Classical Review), takes on Beethoven’s First Piano Concerto, a work of youthful bravura and pensive elegance. To open the program, Kazuki Yamada conducts Takemitsu’s shimmering How slow the Wind and Franck’s D Minor Symphony, featuring a mix of soaring lyricism and brooding intensity.

  • Venue
    Symphony Center
  • Length
    2 hours 10 minutes
  • Preconcert Conversation
    Guillermo Muñoz Küster
  • Program Book
    Read more

How slow the Wind


Piano Concerto No. 1

Bach (arr. Reger)

Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639 

[May 16, 18, & 21 Encore]

Martin Helmchen piano


Waldszenen, Op. 82, No. 7 “Vogel als Prophet” 

[May 17 Encore]

Martin Helmchen piano


Symphony in D Minor


Enhance your concert experience.

Preconcert Dining

Enhance your concert experience by dining at Forte featuring contemporary Mediterranean cuisine or the Thomas Club featuring traditional American fare. Learn more »

Preconcert Conversation

Explore the music in a free preconcert conversation featuring Guillermo Muñoz Küster in Orchestra Hall 75 minutes before the performance. The talk will last approximately 30 minutes. No additional tickets are needed.

Japanese Culture Exhibition

Tuesday, May 21: Attend a Japanese Culture Exhibition centered around the beauty of the cherry blossom presented by the Japanese Culture Center and the Japanese Arts Foundation. The Exhibition will be in Grainger Ballroom starting at 6:00 with demonstrations, origami crafting and art installations open to all ticket holders.



These concerts are generously sponsored by an anonymous donor.