Civitas Ensemble Plays Bartók & Price
Nov 14, 2023
Order now


Hailed by the Chicago Classical Review as being “among Chicago’s finest and most adventurous chamber groups,” the Civitas Ensemble presents recently discovered works by two 20th-century composers. Béla Bartók’s Piano Quintet in C Major is full of spirit, lovely tunes and rich sonorities. Written by longtime Chicago resident Florence Price, the Piano Quintet in A Minor draws on the musical language of African American spirituals and hymns, reworking elements of the juba dance, which was brought to the American South by enslaved Africans and popularized by Black performers.

Tuesday, November 14, 2023
6:30 PM

Piano Quintet


Piano Quintet

Civitas Ensemble
Assistant Concertmaster
Assistant Principal Cello
The Adele Gidwitz Chair

Support your orchestra
Give today