Muti, Herbert & Pines of Rome
May 25 - May 27, 2023
Order now


Riccardo Muti conducts two of Respighi’s vibrant orchestral tapestries: his sumptuous homage to Rome’s iconic neighborhoods and pine groves and his masterful evocation of Renaissance lute music. The program includes the vivid First Concerto for Timpani by American composer William Kraft, featuring CSO Principal Timpani David Herbert.


  • Venue
    Symphony Center
  • Price Range
  • Length
    2 hours
  • Preconcert Conversation
    with Carl Grapentine
Thursday, May 25, 2023
7:30 PM
Friday, May 26, 2023
1:30 PM
Saturday, May 27, 2023
8:00 PM

Divertimento in F Major, K. 138


Timpani Concerto No. 1


Ancient Airs and Dances, Suite I


Pines of Rome

Music Director
The CSO’s music director position is endowed in perpetuity by a generous gift from the Zell Family Foundation.
Principal Timpani
The Clinton Family Fund Chair


Enhance your concert experience with these additional events.

Preconcert Conversations

Explore the music in the free preconcert conversation featuring Carl Grapentine in Orchestra Hall 75 minutes before the performance. The conversation will last approximately 30 minutes. No additional tickets are needed.

Classic Encounter

Terri Hemmert

Thursday, May 25: Preconcert lecture hosted by Chicago’s favorite radio DJ, WXRT’s Terri Hemmert with CSO musician co-host Alex Hanna principal bass (The David and Mary Winton Green Principal Bass Chair).

You will have the opportunity to add Classic Encounter to your order after selecting your seats for the concert.


These performances are made possible by the Juli Plant Grainger Fund for Artistic Excellence.

Discover more on Experience CSO
Orchestral Excerpt Insights: David Herbert
For CSO Principal Timpani David Herbert, the opening passage of Mozart’s Symphony No. 39 presents the opportunity to play phrases that are simple yet expressive.
Explore more
Musicians ‘string’ the praises of their luthiers
CSO string players have craftsmen known as luthiers on whom they depend to keep their priceless and often rare instruments in peak condition.
Explore more
VIP Services manager Robert Coad is mad about Mahler
Patron Services associates offer their own choices for the must-see CSO and SCP performances of 2022-23. First up, Robert Coad, VIP Services manager, who's mad for Mahler.
Explore more

Support your orchestra
Give today