Alsop Conducts Wolfe: Her Story
Jan 6 - Jan 7, 2023
Order now


Conductor Marin Alsop leads the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in three pivotal works by 21st-century women composers. This Midnight Hour, a single-movement orchestral composition by former Mead Composer-in-Residence Anna Clyne, evokes a visual journey for the listener. Mead Composer-in-Residence Jessie Montgomery’s Rounds, commissioned for and performed by pianist Awadagin Pratt, is inspired by the constancy, rhythms and duality of life that impact all living things. Closing the program is Her Story, a CSO co-commission by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Julia Wolfe that captures the passion and perseverance of women who have led the fight for representation and gender equality. A 40-minute theatrical experience for orchestra and women’s vocal ensemble, the piece is the latest in a series of compositions by Wolfe that highlights monumental and turbulent moments in American history.

Ticket holders are invited to a free preconcert conversation featuring Max Raimi in Orchestra Hall 75 minutes before the performance. The conversation will last approximately 30 minutes. No additional tickets required.

  • Venue
    Symphony Center
  • Price Range
  • Length
    1 hour 50 minutes
  • Preconcert Conversation
    with Max Raimi
Friday, January 6, 2023
8:00 PM
Saturday, January 7, 2023
8:00 PM

This Midnight Hour




Her Story [CSO Co-commission]


Her Story is commissioned by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra through the generous support of the Helen Zell Commissioning Program.

These performances are generously supported by Marion A. Cameron-Gray.

Discover more on Experience CSO
Julia Wolfe Her Story
Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Julia Wolfe turns to the history of the U.S. women’s suffrage movement in 'Her Story,' a theatrical experience for orchestra and women’s vocal ensemble.
Explore more
Patron Services associate Giulia Chiappetta ‘pines’ for Respighi
For her top concert picks for 2022-23, Patron Services associate Giulia Chiappetta offers an eclectic collection, ranging from CSO favorites to taiko drumming to klezmer music.
Explore more
Fran Spellman on her concert picks for 2022-23
Fran Spellman, Patron Services associate, plans to savor Riccardo Muti's farewell season, and declares: "It goes without saying that I will get to all nine of his concerts in 2022-23.”
Explore more

Support your orchestra
Give today