Leonidas Kavakos & Yuja Wang
Nov 7, 2021
Order now
Leonidas Kavakos and Yuja Wang


Superstar soloists Yuja Wang and Leonidas Kavakos, who together “sound like a single organism” (Financial Times), present a defining work by J.S. Bach, along with two composers who fell under the master’s influence. Busoni’s Second Violin Sonata ends with a kaleidoscopic set of variations on a Bach chorale, while Shostakovich’s late-career sonata channels the grandeur and intensity in Bach’s music.

Sunday, November 7, 2021
3:00 PM

Violin Sonata in E Major, BWV 1016


Violin Sonata No. 2, Op. 36a


Violin Sonata in G Major, Op. 134


The Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association has joined a growing coalition of performing arts organizations across the Chicago area in adopting safety protocols to ensure your visit to Symphony Center is safe and sound.

These protocols include providing proof of vaccination or a negative test upon entry and wearing face masks. Performances through November 21 are less than 90 minutes and presented without intermission. Guidelines will be reviewed regularly to follow the latest public health recommendations. Visit cso.org/safeandsound for the most recent information. Ticket holders will receive specific instructions for entry in advance of the performance.

Support your orchestra
Give today