Klaus Mäkelä & Sol Gabetta

Apr 4 - Apr 6, 2024


Sol Gabetta, whose “enthusiastic music-making and animated style are completely infectious” (Classical Voice), makes her CSO debut in Shostakovich’s captivating Cello Concerto No. 1 — a riveting journey through themes of defiance, sorrow and triumph. Electrifying conductor Klaus Mäkelä frames the program with Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony, a searing portrait of the composer’s tormented life in Stalinist Russia, and the U.S. premiere of Sauli Zinovjev’s vibrant Batteria.

Just announced: Klaus Mäkelä named next CSO music director | Discover more »

Please note: Pianist Yuja Wang, who was scheduled to perform Bartók’s Piano Concerto No. 2 on this program, has withdrawn from these concerts.


Batteria [United States Premiere]


Cello Concerto No. 1


Grāmata čellam (“The Book”), II Pianissimo [Apr. 4 & 6 Encore]

De Falla

Siete Canciones populares Españolas, 5. Nana [Apr. 5 Encore]


Symphony No. 10


Enhance your concert experience.

Preconcert Dining

Enhance your concert experience by dining at Forte featuring contemporary Mediterranean cuisine or the Thomas Club featuring traditional American fare. Learn more »

Preconcert Conversation

Explore the music in a free preconcert conversation featuring Daniel Schlosberg in Orchestra Hall 75 minutes before the performance. The talk will last approximately 30 minutes. No additional tickets are needed.


These performances are generously sponsored by the Zell Family Foundation.

Discover more on Experience CSO
Finnish conductor Klaus Mäkelä named the next Music Director of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra — the 11th in the ensemble’s 133-year history.
Explore more
The work that has brought Finnish composer Sauli Zinovjev into the international limelight receives its U.S. premiere.
Explore more