Chopin & Tchaikovsky

Apr 18 - Apr 21, 2024
Order now


Tugan Sokhiev conducts Tchaikovsky’s youthful First Symphony, nicknamed Winter Dreams for its cozy evocation of Russian winters. Chopin’s exuberant Piano Concerto No. 1 features Russian pianist Yulianna Avdeeva, described by the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette as “a one-woman powerhouse” who “stole the show.” Andrzej Panufnik’s Heroic Overture, composed in 1952, is a tribute to the courageous spirit of the Polish people.

  • Venue
    Symphony Center
  • Price Range
  • Length
    2 hours 10 minutes
  • Preconcert Conversation
    Laura Sauer-Shah

Heroic Overture


Piano Concerto No. 1


Symphony No. 1 (Winter Dreams)


Enhance your concert experience.

Preconcert Dining

Enhance your concert experience by dining at Forte featuring contemporary Mediterranean cuisine or the Thomas Club featuring traditional American fare. Learn more »

Preconcert Conversation

Explore the music in a free preconcert conversation featuring Laura Sauer-Shah in Orchestra Hall 75 minutes before the performance. The talk will last approximately 30 minutes. No additional tickets are needed.


This performance is sponsored by the Bonnie Ann Barber Endowment Fund, which recognizes the importance of the CSO to Chicago and aims to preserve and support the CSO’s legacy for future generations.

The appearance of Yulianna Avdeeva is made possible by the Grainger Fund for Excellence.