CSO at Wheaton: Chopin & Tchaikovsky

Apr 19, 2024


Tugan Sokhiev conducts Tchaikovsky’s youthful First Symphony, nicknamed Winter Dreams for its cozy evocation of Russian winters. Chopin’s exuberant Piano Concerto No. 1 features Russian pianist Yulianna Avdeeva, described by the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette as “a one-woman powerhouse” who “stole the show.” Andrzej Panufnik’s Heroic Overture, composed in 1952, is a tribute to the courageous spirit of the Polish people.


Heroic Overture


Piano Concerto No. 1


Symphony No. 1 (Winter Dreams)


Enhance your concert experience with this additional event.

Preconcert Conversation

Explore the music in a free preconcert conversation featuring Laura Sauer-Shah in Armerding Concert Hall 75 minutes before the performance. The talk will last approximately 30 minutes. No additional tickets are needed.


Support for the CSO at Wheaton series is provided by Megan and Steve Shebik.

Discover more on Experience CSO
The Chicago Symphony Orchestra will return to the western suburbs this season with its CSO at Wheaton series. The three-concert run begins Nov. 17, with subsequent dates on March 22 and April 19.
Explore more
Though the works of Tchaikovsky remain ensconced in the classical-music canon, musicologist Philip Ross Bullock argues that the composer’s popularity has worked against him.
Explore more