CSO MusicNOW: In Context featuring Jessie Montgomery & Rachel Barton Pine
Apr 24, 2023
Order now
CSO MusicNow: In Context


The thrilling grand finale of the 25th CSO MusicNOW season features works by Mead Composer-in-Residence Jessie Montgomery and the American musical icons who influenced her from an early age. Pieces by composers Richard Einhorn, Julia Perry, Walter Piston and Leonard Bernstein offer a sweeping exploration of the post-modern American classical music era. The program culminates in a celebration of new music in the 21st century with a world premiere violin duo performed by Jessie Montgomery and virtuoso Chicago native Rachel Barton Pine.

Monday, April 24, 2023
7:00 PM

Maxwell’s Demon #4








Dance Suite


Fanfare for the Fighting French


New Work [World Premiere, MusicNOW Commission]

Musicians from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Mead Composer-in-Residence

Major support for MusicNOW is generously provided by the Zell Family Foundation, the Sargent Family Foundation, the Sally Mead Hands Foundation, the Julian Family Foundation and The Aaron Copland Fund for Music.

Original Artwork by Donovan Foote

Commemorate the 25th season of CSO MusicNOW with limited-edition poster prints of the artwork designed for each concert by local artist Donovan Foote. Prints are available in multiple sizes, framed or unframed, and are shipped directly to your home. Available exclusively at symphonystore.com.

Order now

Discover more on Experience CSO
Jessie Montgomery sees her ‘Hymn for Everyone’ as ‘a catharsis’
Jessie Montgomery's "Hymn for Everyone," set for its world premiere in late April, started out as an an orchestral suite but then she "switched mid-stream to reference this theme, this hymn, I had written during the pandemic."
Explore more
Chicago artist captures the ‘sound’ of MusicNOW in a series of posters
Chicago-based artist Donovan Foote took on the ambitious task of translating the works performed on the 25th anniversary season of MusicNOW into poster designs. His limited-edition prints are available now.
Explore more
Support your orchestra
Give today