CSO MusicNOW: Common Ground
Nov 21, 2022
Order now


Common Ground continues to highlight connections between the works of up-and-coming composers and their musical idols. Featured are two cutting-edge works and a world premiere by Xavier Foley that demonstrate his virtuosity — as well as his passion for solo works on the double bass — and two compositions for strings by American fiddle icon and composer Mark O’Connor. O’Connor’s String Quartet No. 3 fuses traditional old-time fiddling melodies with unique contemporary twists while his Strings and Threads Suite illustrates the interconnections between folk music styles hundreds of years apart.

Monday, November 21, 2022
7:00 PM

Irish Fantasy


Etude No. 10, The Dance 


String Quartet No. 3


New Work [World Premiere, CSO MusicNOW Commission]


Strings and Threads Suite

Musicians from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Mead Composer-in-Residence

Major support for MusicNOW is generously provided by the Zell Family Foundation, Cindy Sargent, the Sally Mead Hands Foundation and the Julian Family Foundation.

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association is committed to creating a comfortable, enjoyable and safe environment.

For everyone’s comfort and safety, all patrons must wear a face mask throughout their visit.

Individuals are expected to self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms before attending a CSOA event. Patrons who are not feeling well, are exhibiting any COVID-19 symptoms or have had or been exposed to COVID-19 in the past 10 days should contact Patron Services for flexible exchange and refund options.

Visit cso.org/SafeAndSound for the most recent information. Ticket holders receive specific instructions for entry ahead of each performance. Please note, other venues in Chicago may have policies that differ from Symphony Center.

Support your orchestra
Give today