Nov 1, 2021
MusicNow: Homecoming


The 2021/22 CSO MusicNOW series opens at Orchestra Hall with a program curated by Mead Composer-in-Residence Jessie Montgomery that celebrates composers with ties to Chicago. Featured are a work by daring, cutting-edge composer Ted Hearne and a world premiere by rising star Elijah Daniel Smith that reimagines the Baroque concerto grosso form. Haitian American flutist-composer Nathalie Joachim explores individual and cultural identity in her wind quintet Seen, alongside Montgomery's set of enchanting vocal works based on texts by J. Mae Barizo and Bimbo Rivas.

Monday, November 1, 2021
7:00 PM
Sponsors & Partners

Major support for CSO MusicNOW is generously provided by the Zell Family Foundation, Cindy Sargent, the Sally Mead Hands Foundation and the Julian Family Foundation.

Elijah Daniel Smith Scions of Atlas, World Premiere, commissioned by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra through the Helen Zell Commissioning Program.                


The Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association has joined a growing coalition of performing arts organizations across the Chicago area in adopting safety protocols to ensure your visit to Symphony Center is safe and sound.

These protocols include providing proof of vaccination or a negative test upon entry and wearing face masks. Guidelines will be reviewed regularly to follow the latest public health recommendations. Visit cso.org/safeandsound for the most recent information. Ticket holders will receive specific instructions for entry in advance of the performance.

Support your orchestra
Give today