Nov 1, 2021
MusicNow: Homecoming


The 2021/22 CSO MusicNOW series opens at Orchestra Hall with a program curated by Mead Composer-in-Residence Jessie Montgomery that celebrates composers with ties to Chicago. Featured are a work by daring, cutting-edge composer Ted Hearne and a world premiere by rising star Elijah Daniel Smith that reimagines the Baroque concerto grosso form. Haitian American flutist-composer Nathalie Joachim explores individual and cultural identity in her wind quintet Seen, alongside Montgomery's set of enchanting vocal works based on texts by J. Mae Barizo and Bimbo Rivas.

Musicians from the Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Sponsors & Partners

Major support for CSO MusicNOW is generously provided by the Zell Family Foundation, Cindy Sargent, the Sally Mead Hands Foundation and the Julian Family Foundation.

Elijah Daniel Smith Scions of Atlas, World Premiere, commissioned by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra through the Helen Zell Commissioning Program.                


The Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association is committed to creating a comfortable, enjoyable and safe environment.

For everyone’s comfort and safety, all patrons must wear a face mask throughout their visit.

Individuals are expected to self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms before attending a CSOA event. Patrons who are not feeling well, are exhibiting any COVID-19 symptoms or have had or been exposed to COVID-19 in the past 10 days should contact Patron Services for flexible exchange and refund options.

Visit cso.org/SafeAndSound for the most recent information. Ticket holders receive specific instructions for entry ahead of each performance. Please note, other venues in Chicago may have policies that differ from Symphony Center.

Support your orchestra
Give today