Lindberg, Lalo & Brahms 4

Dec 2 - Dec 4, 2021
Lindberg, Lalo & Brahms 4


In his 2019 CSO subscription debut, Ray Chen “conjured the archetypal 19th-century virtuoso” and “combined vivid rhetoric with impeccable technique” (Chicago Tribune). Chen returns to present Lalo’s salute to the vigorous and sultry dance rhythms of Spain. A new work by renowned Finnish composer Magnus Lindberg and Brahms' richly autumnal Fourth Symphony complete this program led by Finnish conductor Hannu Lintu.


Serenades [World Premiere, CSO Co-commission]


Symphonie espagnole


Paganini Caprice No. 21


Symphony No. 4


Lindberg Serenades, World Premiere, co-commissioned by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Radio France through the Helen Zell Commissioning Program.

Discover more on Experience CSO
When Leonidas Kavakos returns this month to Orchestra Hall, he will join the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in one of his signature works, the Brahms Violin Concerto: "There have been times when I've played it more than 30 or 40 times in one year."
Explore more

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association is committed to creating a comfortable, enjoyable and safe environment.

For everyone’s comfort and safety, all patrons must wear a face mask throughout their visit.

Individuals are expected to self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms before attending a CSOA event. Patrons who are not feeling well, are exhibiting any COVID-19 symptoms or have had or been exposed to COVID-19 in the past 10 days should contact Patron Services for flexible exchange and refund options.

Visit for the most recent information. Ticket holders receive specific instructions for entry ahead of each performance. Please note, other venues in Chicago may have policies that differ from Symphony Center.