All-Tchaikovsky with Alisa Weilerstein
Mar 24 - Mar 26, 2022
All-Tchaikovsky with Alisa Weilerstein


Anna Rakitina, in her CSO debut, leads a Tchaikovsky celebration. The dynamic Alisa Weilerstein is the soloist in the Rococo Variations, Tchaikovsky’s graceful homage to the 18th century, and the Pezzo capriccioso, a mercurial, one-movement gem. Capriccio italien is a bustling portrait of Italian life, while selections from The Nutcracker highlight the composer’s gift for creating wondrous dance themes.

Ticket holders are invited to a free preconcert conversation featuring Daniel Schlosberg in Orchestra Hall 75 minutes before the performance. The conversation will last approximately 30 minutes. No additional tickets required.

Note: Due to unforeseen scheduling complications, Edo de Waart, originally set to conduct, has had to withdraw from this engagement in Chicago.

Thursday, March 24, 2022
7:30 PM
Saturday, March 26, 2022
8:00 PM
Capriccio italien
Rococo Variations
Pezzo capriccioso

Selections from The Nutcracker


Suite No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1008: Sarabande [Mar 24, Mar 26 Encore]


The appearance of Alisa Weilerstein is made possible by the Grainger Fund for Excellence.

Discover more on Experience CSO
Rising star Anna Rakitina ready for her CSO podium debut
Anna Rakitina knows her opportunity to lead the Chicago Symphony is a big responsibility. “I’m looking forward to facing all of these feelings — joy and fear, stress and happiness and everything,” she said.
Explore more
Why do we love Tchaikovsky? A music scholar counts the ways
Though the works of Tchaikovsky remain ensconced in the classical-music canon, musicologist Philip Ross Bullock argues that the composer’s popularity has worked against him.
Explore more
Cellist Alisa Weilerstein works to raise awareness of diabetes
Along with being an acclaimed concert soloist and new-music advocate, cellist Alisa Weilerstein is an ambassador for the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. At 9 years old, she was diagnosed as a Type 1 diabetic.
Explore more
Abbado Conducts Tchaikovsky
Claudio Abbado leads the Orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s Winter Dreams Symphony, Romeo and Juliet, The Tempest, and The Nutcracker Suite!
Explore more
How Tchaikovsky raised the bar for Russian ballet music
Among his many milestones, Tchaikovsky raised the bar for ballet music. He wrote music full of soaring, inventive melodies, daring harmonies and rhythmic vitality. His three ballets have become classics that endure to this day.
Explore more

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association is committed to creating a comfortable, enjoyable and safe environment.

For everyone’s comfort and safety, all patrons must wear a face mask throughout their visit.

Individuals are expected to self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms before attending a CSOA event. Patrons who are not feeling well, are exhibiting any COVID-19 symptoms or have had or been exposed to COVID-19 in the past 10 days should contact Patron Services for flexible exchange and refund options.

Visit for the most recent information. Ticket holders receive specific instructions for entry ahead of each performance. Please note, other venues in Chicago may have policies that differ from Symphony Center.

Support your orchestra
Give today