CSO All-Access Chamber Music: Emerald Ensemble at Symphony Center

May 17, 2022
Symphony Center Orchestra Hall entrance


The Emerald Ensemble performs a free program at Symphony Center that juxtaposes Perkinson’s solemn Movement for String Trio, composed just before his death, alongside Schumann’s paradoxically sunny Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 47, composed during one of the darkest periods of the composer’s life. Dohnányi’s eclectic Serenade in C Major for String Trio, Op. 10 spans a wide range of musical expression — from a rustic Hungarian march to a tuneful set of hymn variations and a rollicking rondo finale.


Movement for String Trio


Serenade in C Major for String Trio, Op. 10


Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 47

Emerald Ensemble

The All-Access Series is generously sponsored by an anonymous donor.

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association is committed to creating a comfortable, enjoyable and safe environment.

For everyone’s comfort and safety, all patrons must wear a face mask throughout their visit.

Individuals are expected to self-screen for COVID-19 symptoms before attending a CSOA event. Patrons who are not feeling well, are exhibiting any COVID-19 symptoms or have had or been exposed to COVID-19 in the past 10 days should contact Patron Services for flexible exchange and refund options.

Visit cso.org/SafeAndSound for the most recent information. Ticket holders receive specific instructions for entry ahead of each performance. Please note, other venues in Chicago may have policies that differ from Symphony Center.