Muti, Fischer & Brahms Violin Concerto

Apr 25

8:00 PM

Brahms, Still, Price

Saturday, April 25, 2020

Riccardo Muti presents two groundbreaking pieces by the first African Americans to have symphonic works performed by major orchestras. William Grant Still’s Mother and Child is a touching work based on a painting by Sargent Johnson. Florence Price’s expressive Third Symphony gives a powerful voice to the African American experience. Julia Fischer brings her “burnished and splendid tone” (The Daily Telegraph) to Brahms’ lyrical Violin Concerto.


Brahms Violin Concerto
Still Mother and Child
Price Symphony No. 3

Additional Dates for this Program


Maestro Residency Presenter

Official Airline of the CSO

Media sponsor: 

These performances are made possible by the Juli Plant Grainger Fund for Artistic Excellence.