Lars Vogt

Jan 27

3:00 PM

Brahms, Bach

Sunday, January 27, 2019

Praised by The New York Times for his "intensely probing" Goldberg Variations, Lars Vogt brings his own engrossing interpretation to the set of theme and variations that have challenged keyboardists for centuries. Widely regarded as a sensitive and passionate interpreter of Brahms, Vogt also performs three intermezzos by the composer, as well as Brahms' final compositions for solo piano, his Four Piano Pieces, op. 119. 

Approximate concert duration: 114 minutes including intermission


Brahms Three Intermezzos, Op. 117
Brahms Four Piano Pieces, Op. 119
Bach Goldberg Variations


Lars Vogt piano

Pianist Lars Vogt calls Bach's Goldberg Variations a deeply affecting communal experience. “I’ve done Goldberg quite a bit over the last years, and I’ve decided for myself that this will stay as an ongoing piece in my life," he said of the work, which anchors his SCP Piano recital on Jan. 27. "Sometimes, you do big pieces and after a while, you drop them. But Goldberg is something so substantial and so important to me in every way – mentally, emotionally but also simply technically for the piano." Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories


This program is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.