Behzod Abduraimov

Mar 3

3:00 PM

Liszt, Prokofiev

Sunday, March 3, 2019

Uzbekistan native Behzod Abduraimov is highly regarded for his captivating playing and brilliant technique. He makes his Symphony Center debut with a program of well-known works by Prokofiev and Liszt. “Jaw-dropping brilliance. Abduraimov showed his supreme skill with fingers flowing freely across the octaves, producing an exhilarating performance” (Bachtrack).

Approximate concert duration: 96 minutes including intermission


Liszt Isolde's Liebestod from Wagner's Tristan and Isolde
Liszt Sonata in B Minor
Prokofiev Ten Pieces from Romeo and Juliet

Liszt Étude No. 3 in G-sharp Minor from Grandes études de Paganini (La campanella) [ENCORE]


For his Orchestra Hall debut, pianist Behzod Abduraimov has designed a program around the theme of love and death. Bookending it are solo piano transcriptions from two big dramatic works: Franz Liszt’s take on Isolde’s Liebestod from Wagner’s Tristan and Isolde, and Ten Pieces from Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet. “It’s like story-telling, with so many ups and down — the very dramatic to very intimate climaxes put into one continuous, perfect form," he said. "What appeals to me are the poetic and narrative sides of this music, which in the Liszt Sonata, combine with ultra-virtuosity.” Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories


This program is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.