Jerusalem Quartet with Pinchas Zukerman & Amanda Forsyth

Oct 7

3:00 PM

R. Strauss, Schoenberg, Tchaikovsky

Sunday, October 7, 2018

Praised by the New York Times as “astonishing, with an extraordinary unity of sound and purpose,” the Jerusalem Quartet partners with husband-and-wife duo Pinchas Zukerman and Amanda Forsyth for a program of lush, late romantic works. Strauss’ Sextet is a richly textured recreation of baroque chamber music from the beginning of his final opera, Capriccio. Transfigured Night reflects Schoenberg’s creative shift from the influence of Brahms to Wagner. Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence is a melody-laden showcase for string sextet.

Approximate concert duration: 117 minutes including intermission


R. Strauss String Sextet from Capriccio
Schoenberg Transfigured Night
Tchaikovsky Souvenir de Florence

Tchaikovsky, arr. Kam Kuda, kuda vï udalilis (Lensky’s Aria) from Eugene Onegin [ENCORE]


In the classical-music world, Pinchas Zukerman has long been a solo superstar whose virtuosity is matched by only a small handful of contemporaries. While he is well aware of his elevated status, he is also a respectful and eager collaborator — be it with an ensemble or his wife, the cellist Amanda Forsyth. For an SCP Chamber Music concert Oct. 7, Zukerman will share the stage with Forsyth and the Jerusalem Quartet. "Music is about making people play better," he said. "It’s making me play better if they play better. It’s a camaraderie that takes a lot of work and a lot of patience.” Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories


This program is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.