Anne-Sophie Mutter

Mar 17

3:00 PM

Lambert Orkis & Daniel Müller-Schott

Sunday, March 17, 2019

Anne-Sophie Mutter, renowned for her “immense technical security, brilliance and tonal purity, overlaid with romanticized touches” (Chicago Tribune), returns with a program that pairs Ravel’s dreamlike Violin Sonata with Poulenc’s own passionate Violin Sonata, written in memory of Federico García Lorca. Also featured is Beethoven’s ethereal Ghost Trio, inspired by Shakespeare's Macbeth.

Approximate concert duration: 121 minutes including intermission


Mozart Violin Sonata in E Minor, K. 304
Ravel Violin Sonata
Currier Ghost Trio
Beethoven Piano Trio in D Major, Op. 70, No. 1 (Ghost)
Poulenc Violin Sonata


Throughout her career, the music of Mozart has remained front and center for German violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter. In her recitals, she usually programs at least one work by the giant she calls "the crown of composers." Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories


The performance of Sebastian Currier’s, Ghost Trio is sponsored in part by a generous grant from The Elizabeth Morse Charitable Trust.

This program is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.