Civic Chamber Music: Notes on Nature: A String Quartet Concert for the Earth

May 19

2:00 PM

Sunday, May 19, 2019

Join musicians of the Civic Orchestra of Chicago for an afternoon of music celebrating the beauty of the natural world and investigating the effect of human industry on our planet. Works performed are Mozart's joyful and buoyant "Spring" Quartet, the percussive and driving "Thunderstorm" by Samara Rice, Puccini's mournful elegy "Crisantemi," and "Planetary Bands," a piece written by a scientist using climate data. 

This concert is free with no tickets required.


Rice Thunderstorm
Crawford Planetary Bands, Warming World
Puccini Crisantemi
Mozart String Quartet No. 14 in G Major, K. 387 “Spring”


Musicians of the Civic Orchestra of Chicago


Judy and Scott McCue are generous sponsors of the 2018/19 Civic Orchestra Chamber Music Series. The Chicago Symphony Orchestra Association is grateful for Life Trustee Judy McCue’s leadership as inaugural chair of the Civic Orchestra of Chicago and Negaunee Music Institute boards, as it celebrates the centennial season of the Civic and CSO concerts for young people.