Civic Orchestra: 20th-Century Innovators

Dec 12

8:00 PM

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Led by Bergen Philharmonic Chief Conductor Edward Gardner, this concert explores the innovations in instrumentation, form and harmony that emerged during the 20th century, from the powerhouse brass section of Janáček's Sinfonietta to the improvised passages of Lutosławski's Symphony No. 4. This celebration of modern masterworks concludes with the lush impressionistic harmonies of Daphnis and Chloe.

Approximate concert duration: 86 minutes including intermission


Janáček Sinfonietta
Lutosławski Symphony No. 4
Ravel Suite No. 2 from Daphnis and Chloe


Preconcert conversation with Laura Prichard
30-minute run-time

6:30-7:00 Grainger Ballroom


The 2018/19 Civic Orchestra of Chicago season is generously sponsored by The Elizabeth F. Cheney Foundation.

This program is partially supported by a grant from the Illinois Arts Council Agency.