Mitsuko Uchida

Feb 18

3:00 PM


Sunday, February 18, 2018

An artist of impeccable skill and graceful expression, Mitsuko Uchida returns to the Symphony Center Presents Piano series with an all-Schubert program. The New York Classical Review calls Uchida "the great Schubert interpreter of this generation. Uchida’s Schubert transcends time and place."

Approximate concert duration: 125 minutes including intermission


Schubert Sonata in B Major, D. 575
Schubert Sonata in A Minor, D. 845
Schubert Sonata in D Major, D. 850

Schoenberg No. 2 (Langsam) from Six Little Piano Pieces, Op. 19 [ENCORE]


A noted Schubertian, Mitsuko Uchida has launched a two-year exploration of the composer's piano sonatas in leading concert venues worldwide. For the series, which began in fall 2016 with recitals at Vienna's Musikverein and London’s Royal Festival Hall, she travels to Symphony Center for an SCP Piano performance Feb. 18. On the program: Schubert's Sonata in B Major, D. 575; Sonata in A Minor, D. 845, and Sonata in D Major, D. 850. Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories


This performance is generously sponsored by the Randy L. and Melvin R. Berlin Family Fund for the Canon.