Lucas Debargue

Nov 19

3:00 PM

Schubert, Szymanowski

Sunday, November 19, 2017

Rising French pianist Lucas Debargue has rapidly garnered audience and critical acclaim for his intellectual and lyrical performances. The Tchaikovsky Competition laureate takes the stage at Orchestra Hall to make what promises to be an impressive Chicago debut. "There has never been a foreign pianist who caused such a stir since Glenn Gould's arrival in Moscow and Van Cliburn's victory at the Tchaikovsky Competition" (The Huffington Post).


Schubert Sonata in A Minor, D. 664
Schubert Sonata in A Major, D. 784
Szymanowski Sonata No. 2 in A Major, Op. 21

Greer/Lebargue Improvisation on Just You, Just Me [ENCORE]


While French pianist Lucas Debargue does sometimes perform the music of his homeland, he feels in no way beholden to it. “When I think about the repertoire, I don’t think at all about the repertoire of my country and I am not specialized in any composer," said Debargue, who will play sonatas by Schubert and Szymanowski for his Nov. 19 recital. "What attracts me are the pieces. For example, I can be interested in a piece of Ravel but not [necessarily] Ravel as a composer.” Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories


Symphony Center Box Office:
220 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60604

Phone and box office are closed on non-concert Sundays.

In-season Box Office hours:
Mon–Sat 12–6 p.m.  |  Sunday 12–4 p.m. 
Open until intermission on concert days. 
Tickets can be purchased with cash, check or credit card.

Tickets by Phone:

In-season phone service hours:
Mon–Sat 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.  |  Sunday 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Open until concert time on concert days.

Ticket processing fees: $6 per ticket for phone or web orders, $3 per ticket at the Box Office, $5 per ticket for Civic Orchestra concerts.

Tickets are not available for online purchase starting one hour before concert time. Call 312-294-3000 to order tickets an hour or less before the concert.