Gil Shaham & Akira Eguchi

Mar 18

3:00 PM

Kreisler, Wheeler, Dorman, Bach, Franck

Sunday, March 18, 2018

Internationally celebrated violinist Gil Shaham appears in recital with pianist Akira Eguchi in an enchanting program of works that includes Bach’s beloved Partita No. 3 and Cesar Franck’s iconic masterpiece, the Violin Sonata in A Major.


Kreisler Praeludium and Allegro (In the Style of Pugnani)
Wheeler Violin Sonata No. 2 (The Singing Turk)
Dorman Violin Sonata No. 3 (Nigunim)
Bach Partita No. 3 in E Major, BWV 1006
Franck Sonata in A Major

Bolcom The Graceful Ghost Rag [ENCORE]


Gil Shaham and Akira Eguchi have replaced the duo recital program featuring Martha Argerich and Itzhak Perlman.


Gil Shaham violin
Akira Eguchi piano

When Gil Shaham joined the Chicago Symphony Orchestra for four performances of Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto last fall, he treated the audience to a different encore each night. For the Dec. 2 concert, Shaham surprised longtime CSO violist-composer Max Raimi by performing as an encore his Anger Management. "To my astonishment, he learned it [in two days," Raimi said, "and was able to perform it brilliantly by Saturday." Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories

Having a longtime recital partner that he trusts unreservedly means a great deal to violinist Gil Shaham. “I have so much respect for him,” he said of pianist Akira Eguchi. “He knows me so well. Something like the Franck Sonata, we’ve played for maybe for 30 years. We’ve grown together, and we’ve changed together. ... You just keep getting closer as musicians and people.” Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories