MusicNOW: Esa-Pekka Salonen Conducts

May 21

7:00 PM

At Symphony Center

Monday, May 21, 2018

The 20th season concludes with a special concert at Symphony Center led by guest conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen. Karen Gomyo premieres Samuel Adams’ new work, and a newly commissioned work by Elizabeth Ogonek also receives its world premiere. Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdóttir’s , which translates to “tranquility,” is a rich, atmospheric sonic landscape. Finnish composer Magnus Lindberg, “…one of the major voices of 21st century composition” (The New York Times), is currently composer-in-residence for the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

“A first-rate artist of real musical command, vitality, brilliance and intensity...” Chicago Tribune on Karen Gomyo

“Thorvaldsdóttir’s music has a natural beauty to it.” The New York Times

Approximate concert duration: 90 minutes with no intermission


Lindberg Related Rocks
Ogonek The Water Cantos [notes from quiet places] [World Premiere, MusicNOW Commission]
Samuel Adams Chamber Concerto [World Premiere, MusicNOW Commission]


Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor
Karen Gomyo violin
Samuel Adams Mead Composer-in-Residence
Elizabeth Ogonek Mead Composer-in-Residence


Major support for MusicNOW is generously provided by The Aaron Copland Fund for Music, Inc., the Irving Harris Foundation, the Sally Mead Hands Foundation, the Julian Family Foundation, Cindy Sargent, and the Zell Family Foundation.

Special thanks to Helen Meyer and Meyer Sound for graciously donating sound equipment for this MusicNOW performance.

This performance is made possible through the generous support of Richard and Mary L. Gray.

Media sponsors: