MusicNOW @ 20 Years

Oct 2

7:00 PM

Monday, October 2, 2017

Kicking off the 20th season, this program led by MusicNOW Principal Conductor Cliff Colnot features works by all seven former CSO Composers-in-Residence. From Clyne’s cerebral Fits + Starts to Turnage’s jazzy and energetic No Let Up, audiences will enjoy a diverse array of works from this all-star lineup of contemporary composers.

This program features a 20-minute intermission.

Panel Discussion: Where Music Meets Design
6:00 Harris Theater Lobby Level 1
Former CSO Composers-in-Residence Augusta Read Thomas and Shulamit Ran present their perspectives on the influence of visual design in musical composition. John Pobojewski of Thirst Design shares his insights on the process of collaborating with the CSO to create a series of concert posters for MusicNOW, recognized by the Society for Typographic Arts as one of the best 100 pieces in 2016. CSO Scholar-in-Residence & Program Annotator Phillip Huscher will moderate the discussion. This event is open to all MusicNOW @ 20 Years ticket-holders. Beverages will be available for purchase.

Approximate concert duration: 100 minutes including intermission


Clyne Fits + Starts
Ran Birkat Haderekh—Blessing for the Road
Golijov Mariel
Corigliano A Black November Turkey
Corigliano The Red Violin Caprices
Bates The Life of Birds
Thomas Carillon Sky
Turnage No Let Up


Cliff Colnot principal conductor
Baird Dodge violin
Stephanie Jeong violin
Brant Taylor cello
Samuel Adams Mead Composer-in-Residence
Elizabeth Ogonek Mead Composer-in-Residence

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s MusicNOW series, which marks its 20th season in 2017-18, has proven to be an important force in many ways, perhaps most importantly as a catalyst for Chicago's extraordinary transformation as a center of contemporary classical music. To celebrate its legacy, MusicNOW will present a retrospective program Oct. 2 with works by all seven former composers-in-residence: Mason Bates, Anna Clyne, John Corigliano, Osvaldo Golijov, Shulamit Ran, Augusta Read Thomas and Mark-Anthony Turnage. The concert, titled MusicNOW @ 20 Years, is curated by Samuel Adams and Elizabeth Ogonek, the CSO's current composers-in-residence. Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories


Major support for MusicNOW is generously provided by the Irving Harris Foundation, the Sally Mead Hands Foundation, the Julian Family Foundation, Cindy Sargent and the Zell Family Foundation.

Special thanks to Helen Meyer and Meyer Sound for graciously donating sound equipment for this MusicNOW performance.

Media Sponsors:       


Symphony Center Box Office:
220 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60604

Phone and box office are closed on non-concert Sundays.

In-season Box Office hours:
Mon–Sat 12–6 p.m.  |  Sunday 12–4 p.m. 
Open until intermission on concert days. 
Tickets can be purchased with cash, check or credit card.

Tickets by Phone:

In-season phone service hours:
Mon–Sat 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.  |  Sunday 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Open until concert time on concert days.

Ticket processing fees: $6 per ticket for phone or web orders, $3 per ticket at the Box Office, $5 per ticket for Civic Orchestra concerts.

Tickets are not available for online purchase starting one hour before concert time. Call 312-294-3000 to order tickets an hour or less before the concert.