Civic Orchestra: Strauss & Tchaikovsky

Apr 30

8:00 PM

Finnis, Strauss, Tchaikovsky

Monday, April 30, 2018

Associate conductor for the Boston Symphony Ken-David Masur conducts Tchaikovsky’s Sixth Symphony, which premiered just a week before the composer’s death. Finnis’ The Air, Turning, which received its world premiere by the BBC Scottish Symphony in February 2017, weaves instrumental lines against blocks of tonal colors, developing lattices of sound moving in waves to create subtly shifting harmonies.

Approximate concert duration: 110 minutes including intermission


Finnis The Air, Turning [U.S. Premiere]
R. Strauss Suite from Der Rosenkavalier
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6 (Pathétique)


Preconcert conversation with Tim Munro
30 minute run-time

Monday, April 30, 6:30 p.m. Grainger Ballroom


The appearance of conductor Ken-David Masur is generously sponsored by Lisa and Paul Wiggin.