Civic Orchestra: Brahms Symphony No. 2

Feb 26

8:00 PM

Wagner, Schoenberg, Brahms

Monday, February 26, 2018

Legendary German conductor Christoph Eschenbach returns to lead the Civic Orchestra in a program of works by German and Austrian composers. Schoenberg’s single-movement Chamber Symphony is densely packed with lush harmonies. Brahms’ Symphony No. 2, with its dancing third movement and rousing finale, evokes images of the idyllic Austrian countryside where it was composed.

Approximate concert duration: 110 minutes including intermission


Wagner Overture to Tannhäuser
Schoenberg Chamber Symphony No. 1
Brahms Symphony No. 2


Preconcert conversation with Laura Sauer
30 minute run-time

Monday, February 26, 6:30 p.m. Grainger Ballroom