Civic Orchestra: Mozart & Bruckner

Oct 30

8:00 PM

Mozart, Bruckner

Monday, October 30, 2017

CSO Principal Trombone Jay Friedman leads the Civic Orchestra in a performance of beloved symphonies by Mozart and Bruckner. Mozart’s celebratory Haffner Symphony demonstrates his transition from the party music of courtly Salzburg to his more serious compositions in the musical hub of Vienna. Bruckner’s Seventh Symphony, with its poignant memorial to Wagner in the Adagio, was the first work that received widespread acclaim during Bruckner’s lifetime and launched him to fame.

Approximate concert duration: 110 minutes including intermission


Mozart Symphony No. 35 (Haffner)
Bruckner Symphony No. 7


Preconcert conversation with Johann Buis
30 minute run-time

Monday, October 30, 6:30 p.m. Grainger Ballroom


Symphony Center Box Office:
220 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60604

Phone and box office are closed on non-concert Sundays.

In-season Box Office hours:
Mon–Sat 12–6 p.m.  |  Sunday 12–4 p.m. 
Open until intermission on concert days. 
Tickets can be purchased with cash, check or credit card.

Tickets by Phone:

In-season phone service hours:
Mon–Sat 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.  |  Sunday 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Open until concert time on concert days.

Ticket processing fees: $6 per ticket for phone or web orders, $3 per ticket at the Box Office, $5 per ticket for Civic Orchestra concerts.

Tickets are not available for online purchase starting one hour before concert time. Call 312-294-3000 to order tickets an hour or less before the concert.