Debussy La mer & Kavakos Performs Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1

Mar 8

8:00 PM

Mussorgsky, Shostakovich, Berlioz, Debussy

Thursday, March 8, 2018

This colorful program ranges from Shostakovich's haunting First Violin Concerto, performed by Greek virtuoso Leonidas Kavakos, to Debussy's portrait of the sea. “Shostakovich's Violin Concerto brought out the best in intriguing mixture of fierce energy and fierce self-restraint” (Financial Times). An atmospheric and dramatic entr’acte from Berlioz’s epic opera The Trojans portrays Dido and Aeneas’ journey through a royal hunt and storm. 

Approximate concert duration: 120 minutes including intermission


Mussorgsky, Orch. Rimsky-Korsakov Prelude to Khovanshchina
Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1
Berlioz Royal Hunt and Storm from Les Troyens
Debussy La mer

Bach Third movement (Andante) from Violin Sonata No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 1003 [3/8 ENCORE]
Bach Third movement (Sarabande) from Violin Partita No. 2 in D Minor, BWV 1004 [3/10 ENCORE]


Preconcert conversation with Steven Rings
30 minute run-time

Thursday, March 8, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Friday, March 9, 12:15 p.m. Armour Stage
Saturday, March 10, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Sunday, March 11, 2 p.m. Grainger Ballroom

Additional Dates for this Program

Though Leonidas Kavakos now regularly performs Shostakovich's Violin Concerto No. 1, achieving the proper differences in sound between the two slow movements remains a major challenge. He describes the first movement as “hypnotic” — “one doesn’t know whether it is a serial dream or a nightmare” — and the third as “more outspoken and desperate in its romanticism.” Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories


Global Sponsor of the CSO

Official Airline of the CSO