Russian Revolutions

Nov 12

2:00 PM

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Russian art and politics have shaped one another through centuries of war and conflict. Paul Juon wrote his First Piano Quartet the same year Czar Nicholas II, responsible for "Bloody Sunday," was crowned. Brimming with 19th-century romanticism, the quartet recalls Russia's artistic golden age. Shostakovich, labeled by the USSR as a composer whose music often failed to "reflect the spirit of the Soviet people," composed his Piano Quintet the year after World War II began. Ironically, it won a Stalin Prize the same year it premiered. The quintet's contemplative, darkly hued tone betrays the composer's true sentiments toward the USSR, however. Postconcert, learn more about art's power to communicate revolutionary ideas.

Approximate concert duration: 90 minutes including intermission


Juon Piano Quartet No. 1
Shostakovich Piano Quintet


Oberon Ensemble
Lei Hou violin
Qing Hou violin
Catherine Brubaker viola
Karen Basrak cello
Victor Asuncion piano

Symphony Center Box Office:
220 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60604

Phone and box office are closed on non-concert Sundays.

In-season Box Office hours:
Mon–Sat 12–6 p.m.  |  Sunday 12–4 p.m. 
Open until intermission on concert days. 
Tickets can be purchased with cash, check or credit card.

Tickets by Phone:

In-season phone service hours:
Mon–Sat 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.  |  Sunday 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Open until concert time on concert days.

Ticket processing fees: $6 per ticket for phone or web orders, $3 per ticket at the Box Office, $5 per ticket for Civic Orchestra concerts.

Tickets are not available for online purchase starting one hour before concert time. Call 312-294-3000 to order tickets an hour or less before the concert.