Paul Lewis

Apr 9

3:00 PM

Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Weber

Sunday, April 9, 2017

Paul Lewis’ recordings and performances of Beethoven’s sonatas have been praised by audiences and critics worldwide. Lewis returns to Symphony Center with a performance of Beethoven’s Sonata in E-flat Major, Op. 7, along with delightful waltzes by Chopin and Bach’s technically demanding Partita No. 1. “Time and again you marvel at the confidence and assuredness of Lewis’ playing… It’s the kind of playing, in fact, where comparisons cease to matter” (Gramophone).


Bach Partita No. 1, BWV 825
Beethoven Sonata in E-flat Major, Op. 7
Chopin Waltz in A Minor, Op. 34, No. 2
Chopin Waltz in F Minor, Op. 70, No. 2
Chopin Waltz in D-flat Major, Op. 64, No. 1 (Minute)
Weber Sonata No. 2 in A-flat Major, Op. 39

Schubert Allegretto in C Minor, D. 915 [ENCORE]


Symphony Center Box Office:
220 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60604

Phone and box office are closed on non-concert Sundays.

In-season Box Office hours:
Mon–Sat 12–6 p.m.  |  Sunday 12–4 p.m. 
Open until intermission on concert days. 
Tickets can be purchased with cash, check or credit card.

Tickets by Phone:

In-season phone service hours:
Mon–Sat 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.  |  Sunday 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Open until concert time on concert days.

Ticket processing fees: $6 per ticket for phone or web orders, $6 per order at the Box Office, $5 per ticket for Civic Orchestra concerts.

Tickets are not available for online purchase starting one hour before concert time. Call 312-294-3000 to order tickets an hour or less before the concert.