Leif Ove Andsnes and Marc-André Hamelin

Apr 30

3:00 PM

Mozart, Stravinsky, Debussy

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Leif Ove Andsnes and Marc-André Hamelin, two of today’s most celebrated pianists, join forces for an unforgettable afternoon of pieces written for duo piano. Their outstanding technical facility and musical insight will be evident in this program that culminates in Stravinsky’s four-hand arrangement of one of the most important works of the 20th century, The Rite of Spring.

Approximate concert duration: 105 minutes including intermission


Mozart Larghetto and Allegro in E-flat Major for Two Pianos
Stravinsky Concerto for Two Pianos
Debussy En blanc et noir
Stravinsky The Rite of Spring

Stravinsky Madrid for Two Pianos from Four Studies for Orchestra (transc. Soulima Stravinsky) [ENCORE]
Stravinsky Circus Polka for Two Pianos (transc. Babin) [ENCORE]
Stravinsky Tango for Two Pianos (transc. Babin) [ENCORE]


Of Stravinsky’s The Rite of Spring, Leif Ove Andsnes said, “For people who know the orchestral version very well and they hear it on two pianos, they get a fresh look into the piece. It becomes so transparent how the composition is built, its intrinsic workmanship. It’s very fascinating.” Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories


Symphony Center Box Office:
220 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60604

Phone and box office are closed on non-concert Sundays.

In-season Box Office hours:
Mon–Sat 12–6 p.m.  |  Sunday 12–4 p.m. 
Open until intermission on concert days. 
Tickets can be purchased with cash, check or credit card.

Tickets by Phone:

In-season phone service hours:
Mon–Sat 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.  |  Sunday 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Open until concert time on concert days.

Ticket processing fees: $6 per ticket for phone or web orders, $6 per order at the Box Office, $5 per ticket for Civic Orchestra concerts.

Tickets are not available for online purchase starting one hour before concert time. Call 312-294-3000 to order tickets an hour or less before the concert.