May 21

MusicNOW: Esa-Pekka Salonen Conducts


7:00 PM Monday, May 21, 2018

The 20th season concludes with a special concert at Symphony Center led by guest conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen. Karen Gomyo premieres Samuel Adams’ new work, and a newly commissioned work by Elizabeth Ogonek also receives its world premiere. Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdóttir’s , which translates to “tranquility,” is a rich, atmospheric sonic landscape. Finnish composer Magnus Lindberg, “…one of the major voices of 21st century composition” (The New York Times), is currently composer-in-residence for the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

“A first-rate artist of real musical command, vitality, brilliance and intensity...” Chicago Tribune on Karen Gomyo

“Thorvaldsdóttir’s music has a natural beauty to it.” The New York Times


Lindberg Related Rocks
Ogonek The Water Cantos [notes from quiet places] [World Premiere, MusicNOW Commission]
Samuel Adams Chamber Concerto [World Premiere, MusicNOW Commission]


Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor
Karen Gomyo violin
Samuel Adams Mead Composer-in-Residence
Elizabeth Ogonek Mead Composer-in-Residence


Tickets by Phone:

In-season phone service hours:
Mon–Sat 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.  |  Sunday 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Open until concert time on concert days.

Symphony Center Box Office:
220 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60604

Phone and Box Office are closed on non-concert Sundays.

In-season Box Office hours:
Mon–Sat 12–6 p.m.  |  Sunday 12–4 p.m. 
Open until intermission on concert days. 
Tickets can be purchased with cash, check or credit card.

Performance Key

  • AIC CSO Chamber
  • Chicago Symphony Orchestra
  • Civic Orchestra
  • Classic Encounter
  • CSO All-Access Chamber
  • CSO Movies
  • CSO Specials
  • Education Concerts
  • Family Matinees
  • MusicNOW
  • Once Upon a Symphony
  • Ravinia
  • Rental Event
  • SCP Chamber
  • SCP Jazz
  • SCP Orchestra
  • SCP Piano
  • SCP Specials
  • Tour Events
  • Volunteer Events