Ticketholders to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra Main Series concerts can enjoy complimentary preconcert conversations beginning one hour and 15 minutes before all CSO Main concerts. Civic Orchestra lectures begin 90 minutes before concert start time. Your concert ticket serves as admission. Space is limited. Seating is first-come, first-seated. Lectures last approximately 30 minutes and take place in Grainger Ballroom or on Armour Stage.

Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1

Preconcert conversation with Stephen Yaness

Thursday, November 15, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Saturday, November 17, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Sunday, November 18, 1:45-2:15 Armour Stage


Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back in Concert

Preconcert conversation

Friday, November 23, 6:15-6:45 Armour Stage


Chen Leads All-Mozart

Preconcert conversation with Kyle Dzapo

Thursday, November 29, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, November 30, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Saturday, December 1, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Tuesday, December 4, 6:15-6:45 Grainger Ballroom


The Inextinguishable Symphony

Preconcert conversation with Steven Rings

Thursday, December 6, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Friday, December 7, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, December 8, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Tuesday, December 11, 6:15-6:45 Armour Stage


Civic Orchestra: 20th-Century Innovators

Preconcert conversation with Laura Prichard

Wednesday, December 12, 6:30-7:00 Grainger Ballroom


Tilson Thomas Conducts Tchaikovsky 6

Preconcert conversation with Daniel Schlosberg

Thursday, December 13, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, December 14, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, December 15, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom


Handel Messiah

Preconcert conversation with Laura Prichard

Thursday, December 20, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, December 21, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, December 22, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Sunday, December 23, 12:45-1:15 Armour Stage


Elgar Enigma Variations

Preconcert conversation with Johann Buis

Thursday, January 10, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, January 11, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, January 12, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage


Civic Orchestra: Tchaikovsky 4

Preconcert conversation with Laura Prichard

Tuesday, January 15, 6:30-7:00 Grainger Ballroom


Civic Orchestra: UChicago Premieres

Preconcert conversation with Johann Buis

Tuesday, February 5, 6:30-7:00 Grainger Ballroom


Rachmaninov & Tchaikovsky

Preconcert conversation with Carl Grapentine

Thursday, February 14, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Saturday, February 16, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Sunday, February 17, 1:45-2:15 Armour Stage


North By Northwest

Preconcert conversation

Friday, February 15, 6:15-6:45 Armour Stage


Muti Conducts The Mozart Requiem

Preconcert conversation with Carl Grapentine

Thursday, February 21, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, February 22, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, February 23, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage

 

Beethoven Emperor Concerto

Preconcert conversation with Larry Rapchak

Thursday, March 7, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Saturday, March 9, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Sunday, March 10, 1:45-2:15 Armour Stage


Muti Conducts Beethoven & Wagner

Preconcert conversation with Kyle Dzapo

Thursday, March 14, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Friday, March 15, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, March 16, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage


Mendelssohn Scottish Symphony

Preconcert conversation with Daniel Schlosberg

Thursday, March 21, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Saturday, March 23, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage


An American in Paris

Preconcert conversation

Friday, March 22, 6:15-6:45 Armour Stage

Salonen Conducts Strauss & Bartók

Preconcert conversation with Derek Matson

Thursday, March 28, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, March, 29 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Saturday, March 30, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Tuesday, April 2, 6:15-6:45 Armour Stage


Shostakovich 9

Preconcert conversation with Stephen Alltop

Thursday, April 4, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, April, 5, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, April 6, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage


Chopin & The Mermaid

Preconcert conversation with Stephen Alltop

Thursday, April 11, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Friday, April, 12, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, April 13, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage


Ax Plays Brahms

Preconcert conversation with Johann Buis

Thursday, April 18, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, April, 19, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, April 20, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Tuesday, April 23, 6:15-6:45 Armour Stage


Mahler 1

Preconcert conversation with Steven Rings

Thursday, April 25, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, April, 26, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Saturday, April 27, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage


Civic Orchestra: Prokofiev And Beethoven 7

Preconcert conversation with Laura Sauer

Tuesday, April 30, 6:30-7:00 Grainger Ballroom


Muti Conducts Pines of Rome

Preconcert conversation with William White

Thursday, May 2, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Saturday, May, 4, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Tuesday, May, 7, 6:15-6:45 Armour Stage


Muti, Uchida & Mozart

Preconcert conversation with Larry Rapchak

Thursday, May 9, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, May 10, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Saturday, May, 11, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom


Civic Orchestra: Strauss and Cerrone

Preconcert conversation

Sunday, May 12, 6:30-7:00 Grainger Ballroom


Hahn Plays Sibelius Violin Concerto

Preconcert conversation with Johann Buis

Thursday, May 16, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Friday, May 17, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Saturday, May 18, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage


Rodrigo Concierto De Aranjuez

Preconcert conversation with Laura Prichard

Thursday, May 23, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Friday, May 24, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, May 25, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Sunday, May 26, 1:45-2:15 Armour Stage
Tuesday, May 21, 6:15-6:45 Grainger Ballroom


Stravinsky & The Joffrey Ballet

Preconcert conversation with Laura Prichard

Thursday, May 30, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, May 31, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Saturday, June 1, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom


Season Finale: Civic and the Ryan Opera Center

Preconcert conversation with Laura Sauer

Wednesday, June 5, 6:30-7:00 Grainger Ballroom


Simone Young Conducts Wagner & Brahms

Preconcert conversation with Larry Rapchak

Thursday, June 6, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Friday, June 7, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, June 8, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage
Tuesday, June 11, 6:15-6:45 Armour Stage


Muti Conducts An American in Paris & Tchaikovsky

Preconcert conversation with William White

Thursday, June 13, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Friday, June 14, 12:15-12:45 Armour Stage
Saturday, June 15, 6:45-7:15 Armour Stage


Muti Conducts Verdi Aida

Preconcert conversation with Carl Grapentine

Friday, June 21, 6:45-7:15 Grainger Ballroom
Sunday, June 23, 1:45-2:15 Armour Stage
Tuesday, June 25, 6:15-6:45 Armour Stage