Tickets & Events


Event Information

Audio Preview

"Symphonie fantastique", Berlioz
Program Notes

Berlioz Symphonie fantastique

8:00 PM
Weber, Shostakovich, Berlioz
Saturday, December 7, 2013

Shostakovich’s powerful First Violin Concerto, which was composed in secrecy during the final years of Stalin’s tyranny, expresses the fear and fury of a composer suffering pervasive repression by Soviet authority. Its imaginative character is more than matched by Berlioz’s extraordinary Symphonie fantastique, from its sumptuous ball-scene with a haunting waltz melody to the evil howls and cackles of its witches’ Sabbath.

This program will also be performed on December 10.


  • Weber The Ruler of the Spirits Overture
  • Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1
  • Berlioz Symphonie fantastique
  • J.S. Bach Violin Sonata No.3 in C Major, BWV 1005, Mvt. III [ENCORE: 12/5, 12/7]

Additional Dates for this Performance


Preconcert Conversation Information

Preconcert conversations with Johann Buis.
30 minute run-time.

Thurs., December 5, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Sat., December 7, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Tues., December 10, 6:30 p.m. Grainger Ballroom


All 2014/15 Single Tickets and CYO Packages will be on sale August 8, 2014.

Selected performances will be on sale July 2014. Details to be announced.

In the meantime, 2014/15 single tickets can be purchased online by adding a subscription package to your cart, which will activate next season's single ticket purchase options at special subscriber prices. You MUST have a 2014/15 subscription package in your cart or pricing will not be adjusted.

Current subscribers please call 312-294-3000 to purchase add-on single tickets by phone.