SFJAZZ Collective: The Music of Miles Davis & Original Compositions / Regina Carter: Simply Ella

May 5

8:00 PM

Friday, May 5, 2017

“A superbrain for what serious jazz sounds like” (The New York Times), the SFJAZZ Collective is an all-star ensemble of exceptional talent. For this concert, the group embraces one of the greatest legends of them all, Miles Davis, in a program of fresh arrangements of popular Davis works and new commissions inspired by the “Prince of Darkness.” Jazz violin virtuoso Regina Carter returns to Symphony Center with a celebration of her biggest musical inspiration, the incomparable Ella Fitzgerald. “Carter creates music that is wonderfully listenable, probingly intelligent and, at times, breathtakingly daring…taking the listener into the future of jazz” (Time).


Regina Carter
Regina Carter violin

SFJAZZ Collective
Miguel Zenón alto saxophone and flute
David Sánchez tenor saxophone
Sean Jones trumpet
Robin Eubanks trombone
Warren Wolf, Jr. vibes
Edward Simon piano
Matt Penman bass
Obed Calvaire drums


Funding for educational programs during the 2016/17 SCP Jazz series has been generously provided by Dan J. Epstein, Judy Guitelman and the Dan J. Epstein Family Foundation.

The SCP Jazz series is sponsored by

Media Sponsors: