Contemporary Core: Burnham Chamber Ensemble

Mar 12

2:00 PM

John Adams, Dvořák

Sunday, March 12, 2017

In celebration of American composer John Adams' 70th birthday, musicians from the CSO perform his playful John's Book of Alleged Dances, which brings to life ten imaginative dances that the composer calls "droll and sardonic." Dvořák's Piano Quintet in A Major also uses dance as a central theme and features a movement devoted to the Slavonic dumka, a type of folk music whole character shifts between moments of melancholy and jollity.


Haydn String Quartet No. 53 (The Lark)
John Adams Four Pieces from John's Book of Alleged Dances
Dvořák Piano Quintet No. 2


Burnham Chamber Ensemble
Susan Synnestvedt violin
Kozue Funakoshi  violin
Diane Mues viola
Loren Brown cello
Andrea Swan piano

This season, the classical music world is celebrating the 70th birthday of American composer John Adams with programs of his works and other special events. To that end, guest conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra will perform Adams’ Scheherazade.2, on March 2, 4 and 7. On March 9-11, Salonen and the orchestra will offer Adams’ Slonimsky’s Earbox. Finally, on March 12, the Burnham Chamber Ensemble, consisting of CSO members, will play Adams' string quartet John’s Book of Alleged Dances. In an interview shortly before his birthday last month, Adams spoke about turning 70, his new opera and the works that will be heard in Chicago. Read more at CSO Sounds & Stories