Civic Orchestra of Chicago

Regarded as one of the nation’s premier training programs for emerging professional musicians, the Civic Orchestra of Chicago has presented extraordinary concerts in Orchestra Hall at Symphony Center since 1919.

Under the guidance of Principal Conductor Cliff Colnot, Judson and Joyce Green Creative Consultant Yo-Yo Ma, musicians of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, CSO Music Director Riccardo Muti and the many guest artists who visit Symphony Center each season, Civic is one of Chicago’s great cultural and educational resources.

Additionally, the Civic Orchestra serves as a valued resource and community partner in Chicago by presenting free, high-quality concerts at Symphony Center and free, interactive chamber music performances in schools and community locations throughout the city. In addition to the critically acclaimed live concerts at Symphony Center, Civic Orchestra performances can be heard locally on WFMT (98.7 FM) and in nationally syndicated radio broadcasts on 160 broadcast outlets in 30 states. These are made possible through a generous gift from the Elizabeth F. Cheney Foundation.

The Civic Orchestra is a signature program of the Negaunee Music Institute at the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. The Institute shares the extraordinary musical resources of the CSO by producing exemplary musical learning and training experiences that engage people of all ages and backgrounds. Through its own work and collaboration with other organizations, the Institute offers sustained pathways for both artists and audiences to develop as Citizen Musicians, generously using and promoting the power of music to create connections and build community.

Learn more about the Civic Orchestra of Chicago >



Regular Members
Soyung An
Amanda Bailey
Xiaoguo Burton
Seohee Byun
Hen-Shuo Steven Chang
Maya Cohon
Alexandria Conrad
Emelinda Escobar
Danielle Giulini
Hillary Hempel
Myra Hinrichs
Shushi Hori
Paula Johannesen
Haemi Lee
Jessica Ling
Angelica Lundberg
Janet Lyu
Kiyoe Matsuura
Zachary Peterson
Sam Petrey
Kathryn Satoh
Shani Schechter
Danielle Seaman
Youngsin Seo
Gereltuya Tumurbaatar
Yuri Uchida
Albert Yan
Qiao Yu

Associate Members
Wenyin Deng
Elizabeth Ehrlich
Amy Hillis


Regular Members
Rita Andrade
David Beytas
Amy Hess
Nina Kiken
Davis King
Istvan Loga
Brianne Lugo
Charlotte Malin
William McLellan
Samuel Pedersen
Erin Rafferty
Sarah Vosper

Associate Members
Jacqueline Hanson
Grace Lee
Elizabeth Oka
Michael Sabatka


Regular Members
Titilayo Ayangade
Pu Chen
Ryan Fitzpatrick
Diana Flores
Michael Grittani
Ji-Ye Kim
Wanyu Rebecca Kuo
Sonia Mantell
David Sands
Genevieve Tabby

Associate Members
Jennifer McDunn
Isaac Pastor-Chermak


Regular Members
Fernando de la Fuente
Paul Nemeth
Neal Rodack
Anna Scheider
Johann Schuster
Nahee Song
Jessica Wolfe
Wei Xin

Associate Members
Carl Anderson
Adam Bernstein
Zachary Hobin
Sara Neilson
David Schumm
Brett Wagner


Regular Members
Emily Koi
Allison Poh
JungHwa Yoo

Associate Members
Kyle Henning
Daryl Thompson
Patrick Tsuji


Regular Members
Jaimie Duff
Lindsay Flowers
Ryan Jones

Associate Members
Sarah Balzer
Erin Britton
Lauren Keating
Pablo Moreno
Jessica Warren


Regular Members
Lindsey Cavanaugh
Zachary Good
JJ Koh

Associate Members
Nicholas Brown
Natalie Eriksson
Tzuying Huang
Igal Levin
Nora Shaffer
Claire Wilson


Regular Members
Robert Curl
Francisco Delgado
Andrei Muravev

Associate Members
Alex Amsel
Ryan Finefrock
Joyce Fleck
Kara LaMoure
Hannah Taylor
Remy Taghavi


Regular Members
Melanie Erena
Gregory Hix
Marta Kallenberger
Alex Laskey
Allison Tutton

Associate Members
Joshua Horne
Jamie Leff
Shelby Nugent
Russell Rybicki
Kenji Ulmer
Christopher Williams


Regular Members
Matthew Barker
Ansel Norris
Eriko Shibata

Associate Members
Shan Huang
Aaron Krumsieg
Jean Laurenz
Ari Micich
Ayano Tomioka


Regular Members
Keith Dyrda
Joseph Peterson

Associate Members
Hana Beloglavec
Michael Cox
Ignacio del Rey Tomas-Biosca
Carson King-Fournier


Regular Member
Gabriel Roberson

Associate Members
Joel Griswell


Regular Member
David Nelson

Associate Members
Maxwell Briggs
Ben Darneille
Joshua deVries
Jose Francisco Martínez-Antón
Krzysztof Mucha
Nelson Woods


Regular Member
Simón Gómez Gallego

Associate Members
Erich Rieppel
Alana Wiesing


Regular Members
David Eisenreich
Bernadette Manalo
Steven White

Associate Members
William Champion
Michael Hopkins
Matthew Penland
Patrick Speranza


Regular Member
Gréta Ásgeirsson

Associate Members
Catherine Canale
Alizabeth Nowland
Katherine Ventura


Regular Member
Marianne Parker

Associate Members
Joanna Chao
Soo-Young Kim
Elizabeth Newkirk


Caroline Eichler