Tickets & Events


Event Information

Program Notes
Video Preview
For use on event pages

Dvorák New World Symphony

8:00 PM
Brahms, Bruch, Dvorák
Saturday, November 8, 2014

Dvorák’s New World Symphony is among the most recognizable and well-loved orchestral works ever written, its passion and fire balanced with moving serenity. Rising young conductor Cristian Macelaru pairs this beautiful masterpiece with Brahms’ exhilarating Hungarian Dances and Bruch’s rapturous First Violin Concerto, played here by hypnotic and sensitive violinist Elena Urioste.

Elena Urioste, soloist in the Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1 with the CSO, feels the often-performed work can be taken for granted. “It’s an incredibly beautiful piece,” she said. “It’s very sincere. It’s touching, and it should be treated with as much respect as any other big violin concerto.” Read more at Sounds & Stories.


  • Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 17 in F-sharp Minor
  • Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 18 in D Major
  • Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 19 in B Minor
  • Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 20 in E Minor
  • Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 21 in E Minor
  • Bruch Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 26
  • Dvořák Symphony No. 9 (From the New World)

Additional Dates for this Program


This performance is part of the:

Saturday D Series >

Preconcert Conversation Information

Preconcert conversations with William White.
30 minute run-time.

Fri., November 7, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Sat., November 8, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom


Other Ways to Buy Tickets

Phone: 312-294-3000
Service hours Mon-Sat 10-5, Sunday 11-3.
Open until concert time on concert days.

Box Office:
220 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60604

Box Office hours Mon-Sat 12-6, Sunday 12-4.
Open until intermission on concert days.

More Information

Program Notes Archive >
Seating Charts >
Calendar >
Subscribe to 2015/16 Season >
2015/16 Season Brochure >

2015/16 single tickets will be on sale to non-subscribers August 2015.