Tickets & Events


Event Information

Symphony Center
220 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone 312-294-3000
Fax 312-294-3329

My Cart >
My Account >
Tickets & Events Calendar >
Seating Charts >
Subscribe >

Give Now >

Bach Orchestral Suite No. 3

8:00 PM
Featuring Air “on the G String”
Thursday, April 30, 2015

Bach’s regal Orchestral Suite No. 3, most beloved for its Air “on the G string,” exudes 18th-century elegance. Almost 200 years later, Poulenc revived the unexpected mix of Baroque grace and humor in his Concert champêtre, which features a solo harpsichord part, played here by Mahan Esfahani. The CSO completes this charming program with Stravinsky’s arrangement of preludes and fugues from Bach’s The Well-Tempered Clavier.


  • Rameau Dance Suite from Platée
  • Poulenc Concert champêtre
  • Bach (arr. Stravinsky) Four Preludes and Fugues from The Well-Tempered Clavier
  • Bach Orchestral Suite No. 3

Additional Dates for this Program


Series Information

This performance is part of the:

Thursday B Series >
Thursday I Series >

Preconcert Conversation Information

Preconcert conversations with Laura Prichard.
30 minute run-time.

Thurs., April 30, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Fri., May 1, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Sat., May 2, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom


Other Ways to Buy Tickets

Phone: 312-294-3000
Service hours Mon-Sat 10-5, Sunday 11-3.
Open until concert time on concert days.

Box Office:
220 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60604

Box Office hours Mon-Sat 12-6, Sunday 12-4.
Open until intermission on concert days.

More Information

Program Notes Archive >
Seating Charts >
Calendar >
Subscribe to 2015/16 Season >
2015/16 Season Brochure >

2015/16 single tickets will be on sale to non-subscribers August 2015.