Tickets & Events


Event Information

Video Preview

Jaap van Zweden discusses the 2014 Truth to Power Festival. May - June 2014.

Audio Preview

Symphony No. 7, Shostakovich

Shostakovich Leningrad

8:00 PM
Britten, Shostakovich
Saturday, May 24, 2014

Jaap van Zweden conducts two World War II-era pieces showcasing the glorious sound of the CSO. Shostakovich’s Seventh Symphony, mostly written in Leningrad while the city was under siege, became symbolic of the indomitable spirit of both that city and of the Soviet people. Britten’s Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia from his opera Peter Grimes portray the sea on England’s eastern coast in all its power and transformative beauty.


  • Britten Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia from Peter Grimes
  • Shostakovich Symphony No. 7 (Leningrad)

Additional Dates for this Performance


Series Information

Preconcert Conversation Information

Preconcert conversations with Gerard McBurney.

30 minute run-time.
Thurs., May 22, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Fri., May 23, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Sat., May 24, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom


All 2014/15 Single Tickets and CYO Packages will be on sale August 8, 2014.

Selected performances will be on sale July 2014. Details to be announced.

In the meantime, 2014/15 single tickets can be purchased online by adding a subscription package to your cart, which will activate next season's single ticket purchase options at special subscriber prices. You MUST have a 2014/15 subscription package in your cart or pricing will not be adjusted.

Current subscribers please call 312-294-3000 to purchase add-on single tickets by phone.