Tickets & Events


Event Information

Video Preview

Jaap van Zweden discusses the 2014 Truth to Power Festival. May - June 2014.

Audio Preview

Symphony No. 5, Sergei Prokofiev

Prokofiev 5

8:00 PM
Shostakovich, Britten, Prokofiev
Saturday, May 31, 2014

Written during World War II, Britten’s Sinfonia da requiem is a powerful cry for peace, reaching such tension in the central scherzo that the music seems to explode into angry fragments, from the cooling shards of which arises its serene, hope-filled finale. Prokofiev’s breathtaking Fifth Symphony, composed with an Allied victory over Nazi Germany in sight, evokes a waking giant and ends with an exhilarating finale.


  • Shostakovich Five Fragments
  • Britten Sinfonia da requiem
  • Prokofiev Symphony No. 5

Additional Dates for this Performance


Series Information

Preconcert Conversation Information

Preconcert conversations with Laura Stanfield Prichard.

30 minute run-time.
Sat., May 31, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Tue., June 3, 6:30 p.m. Grainger Ballroom


All 2014/15 Single Tickets and CYO Packages will be on sale August 8, 2014.

Selected performances will be on sale July 2014. Details to be announced.

In the meantime, 2014/15 single tickets can be purchased online by adding a subscription package to your cart, which will activate next season's single ticket purchase options at special subscriber prices. You MUST have a 2014/15 subscription package in your cart or pricing will not be adjusted.

Current subscribers please call 312-294-3000 to purchase add-on single tickets by phone.