Tickets & Events


Event Information

Audio Preview

La mer, Debussy
Program Notes

Audio Program Notes

CSO Audio Program Notes

0:00 - Stravinsky Violin Concerto

9:03 - Debussy La mer

Debussy La mer

8:00 PM
Sibelius, Stravinsky, Adès, Debussy
Saturday, October 19, 2013

A major landmark of twentieth-century music, Debussy’s portrait of the sea in all its moods, from mist-shrouded dawn to the fury of a storm, inspired many other composers, including Sibelius’s brilliant, eerie music to The Tempest. Stravinsky’s playful Violin Concerto, featuring magnetic violinist Leila Josefowicz, and Adès’s brooding and magical ...but all shall be well are illuminating companions to these atmospheric works.

The October 19 concert is a part of our POST series–$35 tickets include a 21+ after-concert lounge. Use promo code POST at checkout!


  • Sibelius Suite No. 1 The Tempest
  • Stravinsky Violin Concerto
  • Adès ...but all shall be well
  • Debussy La mer

Additional Dates for this Program


Preconcert Conversation Information

Preconcert conversations with Gerard McBurney.
30 minute run-time.

Sat., October 19, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Tues., October 22, 6:30 p.m. Grainger Ballroom


Subscribe to the 2015/16 Season >

Season Calendar of Events >

Hall Seating Charts >