Tickets & Events


Event Information

Video Preview

Jaap van Zweden discusses the 2014 Truth to Power Festival. May - June 2014.

Shostakovich and Prokofiev

8:00 PM
Prokofiev, Britten, Shostakovich
Thursday, May 29, 2014

Prokofiev’s Symphony-Concerto, played by the magnificent Alisa Weilerstein, embraces anguish and defiance as well as warmth and tender lyricism. Shostakovich’s neoclassical Ninth Symphony confounded expectations: instead of a triumphant celebration of Soviet victory over Nazi Germany, it is both sarcastic and cheeky, including a strutting march for piccolo. Britten’s Suite on English Folk Tunes enchants the ear with richly contrasting orchestral colors and textures.


  • Prokofiev Symphony-Concerto
  • Britten Suite on English Folk Tunes: A time there was...
  • Shostakovich Symphony No. 9

Additional Dates for this Performance


Series Information

Preconcert Conversation Information

Preconcert conversations with Laura Stanfield Prichard.

30 minute run-time.
Thurs., May 29, 7 p.m. Grainger Ballroom
Fri., May 30, 12:15 p.m. Grainger Ballroom


All 2014/15 Single Tickets and CYO Packages will be on sale August 8, 2014.

Selected performances will be on sale July 2014. Details to be announced.

In the meantime, 2014/15 single tickets can be purchased online by adding a subscription package to your cart, which will activate next season's single ticket purchase options at special subscriber prices. You MUST have a 2014/15 subscription package in your cart or pricing will not be adjusted.

Current subscribers please call 312-294-3000 to purchase add-on single tickets by phone.