Listen & Watch

My Media Player

Enjoy streaming media

If you have ordered streaming media, you will find it in your My Media section of From there you can add it to your playlist and listen online.


Beyond the Score

Beyond the Score: Mozart Piano Concerto No. 27

Release May 12, 2009

© Chicago Symphony Orchestra 2009
All rights reserved

Length: 01:03:14



Beneath the simplicity of Mozart's final piano concerto lies one of the most subtle and perfect architectural structures in music. Composed less than a year before Mozart's untimely death, this concerto evokes a variety of intensely personal and painful experiences. By turns mysterious, luminous and tragic, this kaleidoscope of sound is magically held together by a blend of elegance and poignancy.

Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Jeffrey Kahane conductor and piano
Gerard McBurney creative director and narrator
Susanna Phillips soprano
Tim Gregory actor

Download this FREE video at >

Additional Details

"Of all the various attempts by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in recent years to lure new listeners to Symphony Center and stimulate a deeper understanding of its music, none has proved more of a runaway hit, deservedly so, than the Beyond the Score® series."
— Chicago Tribune

Read more and download free high-quality video files at

Additional Information

More about Beyond the Score

Written and created by the CSO's creative director, Gerard McBurney, live musical examples are called upon to illustrate the structure of each composition. After an intermission, concertgoers return to the hall with newly discovered knowledge to hear a performance of the work played in its entirety.

Read more and download free high-quality video files at